CRE N Illinois

Record-breaking 20 Goldie Scholars chosen for 2018-19 academic year

Record-breaking 20 Goldie Scholars chosen for 2018-19 academic year,ph1

The Goldie Initiative, which is dedicated to redefining the commercial real estate industry by elevating and advancing the careers of women with high potential, recently announced scholarship winners for the upcoming school year. Since 2007, The Goldie Initiative has created a professional community of dozens of women with extraordinary academic and leadership potential, known as Goldie Scholars.

With a unique strategy of scholarship, mentoring, networking and professional development, the Goldie Initiative cultivates talented women into future leaders. The program supports women pursuing graduate-level studies in business, law or management with a focus on real estate. The Goldie Initiative has assisted over 75 Goldie Scholars at Roosevelt University’s Marshall Bennett Institute of Real Estate, DePaul University’s Kellstadt Graduate School of Business, the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, the James A. Graaskamp Center for Real Estate at The University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Business and the Kellogg School of Management and McCormick School of Engineering at Northwestern University.

Twenty Goldie Scholars representing nine universities in Chicago and the Midwest were selected on August 20, 2018, for a prestigious scholarship program with The Goldie Initiative for the 2018–19 academic year. In addition to the five existing schools where Goldie Scholars study, four new programs were added for a total of nine universities represented; the new programs include University of Notre Dame’s Mendoza College of Business, University of Illinois’ Gies College of Business, Northwestern University’s Pritzker School of Law and Illinois Institute of Technology’s Chicago-Kent College of Law.

In addition to a $10,000 scholarship over a two-year period, the program also includes the assignment of a mentor, access to exclusive networking opportunities, a leadership development program and other benefits. This year’s Goldie Scholars are Nora Boneham, Thea Button, Charlotte (Xintong) Du, Ann Fortner, Hannah French, Linda Kanoski, Gabriele Katilius, Sheila Loberg, Trisha Mantri, Megan May, Vasiliki Mitrakos, Olga Olejniczak, Colleen Quirk, Rebecca Palmer, Irene Papierek, Samantha Ruben, Jasmine Shells, Shreya Singh, Sue Taghabon and Rebecca Thomson.