CRE N Illinois

Eight Chicago-area projects receive prestigious American Architecture Awards

Four Chicago-area projects receive prestigious American Architecture Awards,ph1
River Point Tower in Chicago, by architect Pickard Chilton Architects, was one of eight Chicago-area projects honored at the 2018 American Architecture Awards.

Considered the nation’s highest public award for new architecture, the 2018 American Architecture Awards are presented to over 100 exceptional buildings selected from a shortlist of more than 300 buildings and urban planning projects. The winners were announced by The Chicago Athenaeum and the European Center for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies earlier this month, and honored at a reception at The Institute of International Education in New York held on June 20th.

This year, eight Chicago-area projects were honored.

150 North Riverside, Chicago by Goettsch Partners

Apple Michigan Avenue, Chicago by Foster Partners

Gordon Park Arts Hall, Chicago by Valerio Dewalt Train Associates

River Point, Chicago by Pickard Chilton

Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, Chicago by HDR | Gensler in Association with Clive Wilkinson Architects

Unity Temple restoration, Oak Park by Harboe Architects

Vue53, Chicago by Valerio Dewalt Train Associates

Wintrust Arena, Chicago by Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects and Moody-Nolan Inc.

“We are thrilled to have River Point recognized with an American Architecture Award, an honor which attests to the firm’s continuous commitment to innovative and cutting-edge design,” said Pickard Chilton principal Anthony Markese FAIA, RIBA, LEED AP. “River Point has been a tremendous addition to the already exciting Chicago skyline, and we are delighted to see how it has transformed an underutilized riverfront site into a dynamic, publicly-accessible green space.”

The projects are honored based on their contribution to innovative contemporary American architecture by a jury comprised of a select team of architects and designers from some of the nation’s top design firms. The American Architecture Awards jury included Carlos Zapata of Carlos Zapata Studio, Claire Weiszv of WXY, Soo K. Chan of SCDA Architects, Douglas Bothner of Ziger/SNEAD Architects, David Leeven of Levenbetts, Marc Gee of GLUCK+, Andrea Lamberti of Rafael Viñoly Architects and David Lewis of LTL Architects.